360GLT with lots of little problems

Various, various and more various!
carnut1100

360GLT with lots of little problems

Post by carnut1100 » 10 Jul 2008 04:39 am

Hiya all,
I'm a 300 noob as I have been fiddling with 240s and 164s for years.
However, my little brother just got a 360GLT for his first car, and I will be chief maintenance man as
a) He's a baker, not a mechanic
b) He is better at breking stuff than fixing it
c) That includes tools, so he has no good tools left and he ain't touching mine!!!

Sooooo, I took it to work with me today and I have a little list of problems I have noticed which need attention.
Minor stuff like the central locking on one door not working, or the interior mirror falling off because it was held on with superglue are easy.

However,.........
It refuses to select reverse. All oter gears select fine.
Reverse just seems to be missing from the gate.
It worked in reverse a few days ago when we picked it up though.....

The brakes pull it up good, but need a firm shove.
Is the likely to be the booster going?
On all other cars I have had, when the booster went, it went! Maybe the booster is stuffed but the brakes aren't too bad without them. Certainly they are not as hard as Dad's 1969 Ford Transit with non boosted brakes....

What is the most likely cause of a clonk in the driveline, reminiscent of a slightly work universal joint on most cars, or a set of worn torque rod bushes in a 240?

And is there a usual reason for a vibration in the steering starting at around 80 kmh and getting quite bad by 110?
Could be an out of balance wheel maybe, or something worse....
Volvos rock!

Ronnie
*** V3M DONOR ***

Post by Ronnie » 10 Jul 2008 11:59 am

Gears - don't know

Brakes - check your vacuum hoses, then the servo. V300 brakes are really pretty good

Driveline clonk - could well be the diff on the way out, does it feel like diff backlash?