New to the wolrd of volvo's

Front axle, springs, shock absorbers, wheels, bearings, calipers, drums...
Tuning: suspension, discs, alloys upgrade...
NO parts requests here, please use our V3M BUY & SELL corner
Lowandslow

New to the wolrd of volvo's

Post by Lowandslow » 22 Feb 2011 02:43 pm

Hi guys,

I'm new to the world of Volvo's and have just got myself a 3door D reg '87 340 gl 1.7. so first thing is making it sit down as I can't sit next to the stratosphere and am used to pulling up next to landrovers and not being able to see over their bonnet.

I'm from the land of fords where I understand quicte a bit but I'm out of my depth here so its question time.

I hear the rear can be dropped using ford blocks ie from graystons etc, correct? I'll be going 2 inch on the rear so what size bolts will i need to put the leafs back together as from what I can see they don't use U-bolts and is there anything else I need to look out for when dropping the rear that low? I'll be putting some landrover 90 shocks on the rear too, that sound about right?

Now then the front, this sounds like a bit of a hard part to me, want to lower the same 50mm (2") and I have no idea how you bleed the shocks as I've read somewhere thats the thing to do and re-fill with EP90 gear oil, where's the best place for some springs to do this, also I am a bit concerned about the arches since they're not very tubbed so I'm worried about smacking the tyres on the top of the arch on every bump I hit or hard cornering, it'll be on standard wheels and tyres for a while till I get some money for wheels, which the last question on ride height etc would be what wheels?

Final question, what type of carb is on a 1.7 as I'd like to get a pancake filter or something similar to get rid of the mass amounts of space the current airbox system takes up.

Cheers for any answers guys it'd be an awesome help to a newbie

jon-ovlov

Re: New to the wolrd of volvo's

Post by jon-ovlov » 22 Feb 2011 03:04 pm